Skip to content


  • Candidate must be an Indian national or PIO or OCI.
  • Candidates must have passed 10+2 or equivalent level exam with science stream in 2021 or 2022 from any board recognized by Council of Boards of School Education in India (COBSE) (list of recognised boards)
  • Candidates must have taken at least three among Physics, Chemistry, Biology and Mathematics during their higher secondary course to be considered as from a "science stream".
  • Candidates belonging to GEN/OBC and OBC-NCL should have scored minimum of 60% marks in aggregate or equivalent grade in the qualifying examination.
  • Candidates belonging to SC/ST/PwD should have scored minimum of 55% marks in aggregate or equivalent grade in the qualifying examination.
  • Candidates who are not Indian nationals or PIO or OCI can apply for admission only through the IIT-JEE (Advanced) channel.
  • The following candidates are not eligible for admission:
    • A candidate admitted earlier to any of the IISERs.
    • A candidate who previously accepted a seat in any of the IISERs, but did not join.
    • A candidate whose admission to any of the IISERs was cancelled after joining.

Admission Channels

Candidates who satisfy the minimum eligibility criteria can apply through the following channels for admission:

  1. Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) channel
  2. Joint Entrance Examination (JEE-Advanced) of the Indian Institutes of Technology
  3. State and Central Boards Channel (SCB)

These channels will be referred to as KVPY, JEE, and SCB respectively.

A candidate can apply through any one or two or all the three channels, provided they satisfy the eligibility conditions for each channel.

SCB Channel

  • Candidates seeking admission through this channel must appear for a computer-based IISER Aptitude Test (IAT-2022).
  • IAT-2022 will be conducted at various centres across the country. Announcement for this will appear in newspapers on April 25th 2022.

KVPY Channel

  • Candidates having a valid KVPY fellowship commencing from 2022-23 academic session are eligible to apply for admissions.
  • Candidates in the extended KVPY merit list are not eligible. KVPY-SB candidates who did not join any institution in 2021 are also not eligible to apply. When you login into the application portal, before you apply, you can check your eligibility using your KVPY roll number.
  • Candidates seeking admission under this channel do not have to appear for IAT-2022.

JEE-Advanced Channel

To be eligible for admission via the IIT-JEE (Advanced) channel, candidates (including foreign nationals) must have

  • Candidates should have qualified in the JEE (Advanced) in the year 2022, AND should have a rank within 15000 in the common merit list (for GEN/OBC) or in the respective category rank lists (GEN-EWS/OBC-NCL/SC/ST/PwD). Those who qualified JEE (advanced) in any year other than 2022 are not eligible.

  • Candidates with JEE (Adv) preparatory ranks are not eligible.

  • Candidates seeking admission under this channel do not have to appear for IAT-2022.

Performance criteria in qualifying examination

  1. If the results of 10+2 (or equivalent) qualifying exams are not yet declared, such candidates can apply for admission to IISERs. However, their admission will be subject to fulfilling the minimum eligibility criteria given above.
  2. For candidates who had appeared in the Class XII (or equivalent) Board examination for the first time in 2021 and reappeared in any subject (for whatsoever reason) in 2022, the better of two performances will be considered.
  3. If a Board gives aggregate marks considering both Class XI and Class XII examinations (in the 10+2 system), then only Class XII marks will be considered. If a Board gives aggregate marks considering the results of all three years of a 3-year diploma or courses of equivalent duration, then only the marks scored in the final year will be considered. Similarly, for boards which follow a semester system, the marks scored in the final two semesters will be considered.
  4. If a Board awards only letter grades without providing an equivalent percentage of marks on the grade-sheet, the candidate should obtain a certificate from the Board specifying the equivalent marks and submit it before the deadline of the mark-sheet submission. In case such a certificate is not provided by the Board, meeting minimum eligibility criteria will be assessed as follows: If CGPA/CPI is reported on any scale other than 10 (for example, 4 points or 8 points scale), an equivalent CGPA/CPI will be calculated as per the following formula: CGPA/CPI in a 10 point scale = (CGPA/CPI Obtained×10)/PS. Finally, the marks will be linearly scaled out of 500. (Here PS stands for Point scale used by the Board).